... puts the fun back in file navigation

tagstore is a research software tool developed from the Institute for Software Technology of Graz University of Technology.

The main purpose of tagstore is the refinement of a better method to manage files and folders on the local hard disk drive. Therefore tagstore is no commercial product. It is made public available under the open source license GPL v3.

Basic idea

With tagstore the user does not use the usual method of filing data in a hierarchy of folders as the only possible method. In a tagstore files and folders are being tagged by the user. Using those tags tagstore automatically generates navigation hierarchies called TagTrees. Within those TagTrees the user is able to navigate using his or her preferred software tools like file browsers, "file save..." or "file open..." dialogs.

There is a poster which illustrates basic elements of tagstore:

Use case

Using an example the concept is easy to understand: you've got a hierarchy of files related to people and another one related to your projects. And now you want to file "Bob's ideas about MyProject.txt". Within those classic hierarchies of folders the directories "People/Bob" and "Projects/MyProject" are both reasonable target folders. Without tagstore you have to decide for only one folder.

With tagstore you don't have to find one specific destination folder within the hierarchy. You just use the standard tagstore storage folder called "storage" to store files to. Then you are being asked to tag your file. You choose the tags "Bob" and "MyProject". From now on you can find the file at five locations: "Storage/", "Navigation/Bob/", "Navigation/MyProject/", "Bob/", and "Bob/MyProject/".

The problem with strict file hierarchies and TagTrees

Advantages

While storing files you do not have to select or browse to a certain folder deep in your hierarchy. Instead, you can choose relevant tags associated to your file. Soon you're going to realize that this is a major step forward for your user experience.

Due to the automatically generated TagTrees tagstore enables you to navigate to files (file browsers, "file open..." dialogs or similar) very intuitive using associations. You do not have to remember exact browsing paths to the desired data files. Within the TagTrees you will find your tags as folders. The deeper you navigate into the TagTrees the more specific your search gets to the associations related to the desired data.

There are no dead links within TagTrees: tagstore handles all links so that they are always pointing to the data you are looking for.

The internal structure of tagstore is not using complex things like data bases. Transparency is kept at any time so that you are confident that your data is save. Working with tagstore will put the fun back in file navigation!

Tag recommendations

The tagging process has to be as simple and fast as possible. Therefore tagstore automatically offers you tag recommendations. If you spot a tag within the recommendations, just click on it to add it to your tagline.

If you already used a specific tag before, tagstore is able to offer you the whole tag after typing the first few characters of it. This speeds up typing a lot!

Datestamps

A lot of users prefer accessing informations related to their date processed. Not only because of this reason users are using datestamps to file information. tagstore offers you the cool feature of automatically proposed tags of the current day in ISO format (2017-12-16 or 2017-12).

Expiry dates

tagstore can help you avoiding the file clutter that is no longer necessary: you can define an optional expiry date when storing information. Let's say you are downloading the map of Paris Metro for you next trip to Paris. With an expiry date related to that file you make sure that the Metro map will automatically be moved to a trash folder after your trip to Paris. Using this feature tagstore helps you keeping your data clean. Nice spring-cleaner feature.

Compatibility

Because of its development techniques tagstore is fully compatible to Microsoft Windows, Mac OS X, GNU/Linux and all of your software products you are currently using. You can stick to your favourite file browser, desktop search engine, or your backup system.

Long-time target

When the method of tagstore is proven to be a working alternative to the hierarchy of folders future operating systems and file systems should adopt the featureset of tagstore to enable all users great experience for handling their files and folders.

If you are interested in using tagstore go and try it out on your own!

back to home

Last modified: 2016-02-26T19.22.12

... puts the fun back in file navigation

tagstore ist eine Forschungssoftware, die am Institut für Softwaretechnologie an der Technischen Universität Graz erstellt wurde.

Das Ziel von tagstore ist die Verfeinerung einer deutlich verbesserten Methode, Dateien und Verzeichnisse in den eigenen Dateien auf der lokalen Festplatte abzulegen. Somit ist tagstore kein (kommerzielles) Produkt. Die Software ist Open Source und ist unter der GPL v3 veröffentlicht.

Grundidee

Bei tagstore wird nicht mit der üblichen Methode der Ablage in einer Hierarchie von Verzeichnissen gearbeitet. Dateien und Verzeichnisse, die in einem tagstore gespeichert werden, werden vom Benutzer mit Stichwörtern (Tags) versehen. Mit Hilfe dieser Stichwörter werden automatisch Navigationshierarchien (sogenannte TagTrees) erstellt, die dem Auffinden der Daten durch Navigation (Datei-Browser wie zum Beispiel Windows Explorer, Datei-öffnen-Dialoge, ...) dienen.

Die tagstore zugrundeliegenden Elemente werden auf einem Poster veranschaulicht:

Beispiel

Anhand eines Beispiels wird das Konzept schnell deutlich: Du hast eine Verzeichnishierarchie für Personen und eine andere für Projekte. Nun willst du die Datei "Bob's Ideen für MyProjekt.txt" speichern. In der strikten Hierarchie sind die Verzeichnisse "People/Bob" als auch "Projects/MyProject" gleichberechtigte Zielordner. Ohne tagstore musst du dich allerdings für einen von beiden entscheiden.

Mit tagstore musst du kein besonderes Zielverzeichnis finden. Du speicherst einfach alle Daten im selben Ordner namens "Storage" ab. Dabei wirst du nach Stichwörtern gefragt. In unserem Beispiel wählst du "Bob" und "MyProject". Nun kannst du beim Zugriff deine Datei an mehreren Stellen wiederfinden: "Storage/", "Navigation/Bob/", "Navigation/MyProject/", "Bob/" und "Bob/MyProject/".

Das Problem mit strikten Hierarchien und TagTrees

Vorteile

Beim Speichern musst du nicht mehr in einem Verzeichnissystem nach einem geeigneten Zielverzeichnis suchen. Beim Verschlagworten kannst du beliebige Begriffe mit deinen Daten verknüpfen. Du wirst bald merken, dass das eine deutliche Erleichterung darstellt.

Durch die von tagstore automatisch generierten TagTrees kommst du beim Navigieren im Datei-Browser oder in Datei-öffnen-Dialogen sehr intuitiv über Assoziationen zu deinen gewünschten Daten. Du musst dir keinen exakten Verzeichnispfad merken. Du findest deine Stichworte in Form von Verzeichnissen in den TagTrees wieder. Je tiefer du in einen TagTree hinein navigierst, desto genauer wird deine Suche und desto mehr schränkst du die Daten auf deine gesuchten Kriterien ein.

Es gibt hierbei keine toten Verknüpfungen, da tagstore autonom dafür sorgt, dass immer alle Verknüpfungen aktuell bleiben.

Der interne Aufbau von tagstore kommt ohne einer komplexen Datenbank aus. Du hast volle Transparenz, was mit deinen Daten passiert. Das Arbeiten mit deinen Daten wird dir mit tagstore deutlich mehr Spaß machen!

Schlagwortvorschläge

Um das Verschlagworten so einfach und schnell wie möglich zu gestalten, gibt es bei tagstore automatische Schlagwortvorschläge. Wenn dir passende Schlagworte bei den Vorschlägen dabei sind, so musst du nur mit der Maus clicken, um sie der Datei zuzuordnen.

Hast du ein Schlagwort schon einmal verwendet, so siehst du beim Eintippen des Wortanfanges bereits das komplette Schlagwort in einer Liste auftauchen. So kannst du dir Tipparbeit sparen und das Verschlagworten geht schnell von der Hand.

Datumsstempel

Viele Benutzer möchten auf Daten über deren zeitliche Relevanz zugreifen. Aus diesem Grund speichern Benutzer gerne Daten mit einem Datumsstempel ab. Hier bietet tagstore die Möglichkeit von automatischen Schlagwort-Vorschlägen. Du kannst Datumsstempel im ISO-Format (2017-12-17 oder 2017-12) zum Verschlagworten deiner Daten verwenden.

Ablaufdatum

tagstore kann dir viele unnötige Daten ersparen, indem du beim Speichern ein Ablaufdatum definieren kannst. Wenn du heute für einen Ausflug nach Paris den Metro-Plan aus dem Internet herunterladest, kannst du auf Wunsch ein Ablaufdatum für den Folgemonat nach Ende der Reise definieren, nach dem tagstore automatisch entsprechend markierte Dateien in einen Mistkübel verschiebt. Dadurch bleiben die Daten sauberer und nicht mehr benötigte Dinge verschwinden von selbst. Dadurch hilft tagstore beim automatischen Ausmisten.

Kompatibilität

Durch geeignete Umsetzung ist tagstore mit Microsoft Windows, Mac OS X, GNU/Linux und allen Programmen voll kompatibel. Du kannst deine gewohnte Software-Umgebung wie zum Beispiel alternative Dateibrowser, Desktop-Suchmaschine oder dein Backup-System problemlos weiterverwenden.

Ziel

Das Fernziel von tagstore ist, dass die Funktionalität in zukünftige Betriebssysteme und Dateisysteme einfließt, um allen Benutzern eine wesentlich praktikablere Methode zum Verwalten der Dateien zu ermöglichen.

Wenn du Interesse an tagstore hast, probiere es doch einfach selber aus!

zurück zur Hauptseite

Letzte Änderung: 2016-02-26T19.21.16